Department of Communication Arts Faculty

Department of Communication Arts

John Pate, M.A.

Assistant Professor of Communication
Chair, Dept. of Communication Arts
Office Phone: (951) 343-4493
E-mail: jpate@calbaptist.edu
Office Location: James Building 270

Degree Major Emphasis Institution Year
M.A. Communication California State University at Los Angeles 1992
B.A. Speech & Drama California Baptist College 1978

View Profile

Cynthia Boes, Ph.D.

Professor of Communication Studies
Office Phone: (951) 343-4904
E-mail: cboes@calbaptist.edu
Office Location: James Building 278

Degree Major Emphasis Institution Year
Ph.D. Communication The Pennsylvania State University 2010
M.A. Rhetoric Oregon State University 2003
B.S. English/Communication Corban College 1996

View Profile

Victoria Brodie, M.A.

Visiting Professor of Public Relations
Office Phone: (951) 552-8310
E-mail: vbrodie@calbaptist.edu
Office Location: James 40

Degree Major Emphasis Institution Year
M.A. Public Relations California Baptist University 2015
B.S. Communications / Technology University of Phoenix 2013

View Profile

Michael Chute, Ph.D.

Professor of Journalism
Director of Journalism & New Media and Public Relations
Office Phone: (951) 552-8721
E-mail: mchute@calbaptist.edu
Office Location: James 044

Degree Major Emphasis Institution Year
Ph.D. Mass Communications University of Southern Mississippi 2001
M.A. Communication Missouri State University 1986
B.A. Journalism Oklahoma Baptist University 1972

View Profile

Lee Lyons, M.F.A.

Professor of Theatre
Director, Theatre Program
Office Phone: (951) 343-4919
E-mail: llyons@calbaptist.edu
Office Location: Wallace Theatre

Degree Major Emphasis Institution Year
M.F.A. Theatrical Design San Diego State University 1988
B.A.A. Theatre San Diego State University 1980
A.A Theatre Phoenix College 1978

View Profile

Michael Marse, M.A.

Assistant Professor of Communication Studies
Coach - Speech & Debate Team
Office Phone: (951) 343-4207
E-mail: mmarse@calbaptist.edu
Office Location: James Building 274

Degree Major Emphasis Institution Year
M.A. Communication Studies California State University at San Bernardino 2005
B.A. Communication Arts California Baptist University 2000

View Profile

Frank Mihelich, M.F.A.

Associate Professor of Theatre
Office Phone: 951-552-8651
E-mail: fmihelich@calbaptist.edu
Office Location: Wallace Theater

Degree Major Emphasis Institution Year
M.F.A. Theatre/Acting Columbia University 2004
B.A. Philosophy California Baptist University 1998
B.A. Communication Arts/Theatre California Baptist University 1998

View Profile

MaryAnn Pearson, Ed.D., APR

Professor
Office Phone: (951) 552-8186
E-mail: mpearson@calbaptist.edu
Office Location: James Building 38

Degree Major Emphasis Institution Year
Ed.D. Educational Leadership La Sierra University 2010
M.S. Education California Baptist University 2003
B.A. Liberal Studies - English California Baptist University 1999

View Profile

James Veneman

Visiting Professor
Photojournalism Consultant, Student Publications
E-mail: jveneman@calbaptist.edu

View Profile

Mark A. Wyatt, D.Min.

Vice President for Marketing and Communication
Assistant Professor of Communication Arts
Office Phone: (951) 343-4474
E-mail: mwyatt@calbaptist.edu
Office Location: Eugene and Billie Yeager Center, Room D231

Degree Major Emphasis Institution Year
D.Min. Executive Leadership Golden Gate Baptist Theological Seminary 2000
M.Div. Theology Southern Baptist Theological Seminary 1983
B.F.A. Communications Valdosta (GA) State University 1975

View Profile

Shelli Rappaport

Publications Secretary
Office Phone: 951-552-8116
E-mail: srappaport@calbaptist.edu

View Profile

Sonya Singh

Assistant Director of Student Publications
Office Phone: 951-552-8911
E-mail: ssingh@calbaptist.edu

View Profile

Patty VanBuskirk

Communication Arts Department Secretary
Office Phone: (951) 343-4964
E-mail: pvanbuskirk@calbaptist.edu
Office Location: James 268

View Profile