Hooding Ceremonies

Doctoral and masters candidates will be hooded prior to the Commencement ceremony during a special event determined by each academic school. Students will be contacted by their school or college with information regarding their event. Below is a list of scheduled hooding events. You may contact the school or college directly for more information. If you are unable to attend the hooding event, but still plan to participate in the Commencement ceremony, you will need to contact your school or college to pick up your hood at a different time. Commencement regalia must be worn to all hooding ceremonies and graduates must bring their hoods to Commencement.

College of Architecture, Visual Arts and Design 
There will be no hooding ceremony for fall 2018.
Contact: Laura Peralta at 951.552.8866 or lperalta@calbaptist.edu

College of Arts and Sciences
Department of Mathematical Sciences 
Applied Mathematics

There will be no hooding ceremony for fall 2018.
Contact: Kimberlee Bartholomew at 951.552.8662 or kbartholomew@calbaptist.edu 

College of Arts and Sciences 
Department of Modern Languages and Literature
Date: Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Time: 3:00 - 5:00 PM
Location: A.J. Staples Room
Contact: Rosemary Welsh at 951.343.4590 or rwelsh@calbaptist.edu

College of Behavioral and Social Sciences
Date: Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Time: 10:00 - 11:00 AM
Location: A.J. Staples Room
Contact: Debbie Jahant at 951.343.4287 or djahant@calbaptist.edu

College of Engineering
Date: TBA
Time: TBA
Location: TBA
Contact: Felicia Tasabia at 951.343.4972 or ftasabia@calbaptist.edu

College of Health Science 
Date: Monday, December 10, 2018
Time: 6:00 - 8:00 PM
Location: Health Science Room A7
Contact: Ally Russell at 951.343.4619 or arussell@calbaptist.edu 

College of Nursing
Date: Monday, December 10, 2018
Time: 3:00 PM
Location: Harvest Christian Fellowship
Contact: Beth-Jayne Carranza at 951.343.4417 or bcarranza@calbaptist.edu 

Division of Online and Professional Studies
Date: Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Time: 9:30 AM
Location: Harvest Christian Fellowship
Contact: OPS One-Stop Advising Department at 951.343.3921 or opsadvising@calbaptist.edu

School of Business
Date: Monday, December 10, 2018
Time: 6:00 PM
Location: Innovators Auditorium 
Contact: Cindie Duncan at 951.343.4504 or cduncan@calbaptist.edu

School of Education
Date: Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Time: 6:00 - 7:00 PM 
Location: Innovators Auditorium
Contact: Denise Payne at 951.343.4268 or dpayne@calbaptist.edu

School of Music
Date: TBA
Time: TBA
Location: TBA
Contact: Johna Taylor at 951.552.8797 or jtaylor@calbaptist.edu    

 

  • Hood Colors

    The field of learning in which a degree is awarded is shown by the color of the edging of the hood. The lining of the hood is the official color of the institution which awarded the degree. Following is a list of hood colors representing degrees awarded by CBU:

    Accounting: Drab
    Applied Mathematics: Gold
    Architecture: Blue Violet
    Athletic Training: Sage Green
    Business Administration: Drab
    Communication: Maroon
    Counseling Psychology: Gold
    Counseling Ministry: Gold
    Disability Studies: Light Blue
    Education: Light Blue
    Engineering: Orange
    English: White
    Forensic Psychology: Gold
    Higher Education Leadership and Student Development: Light Blue
    Kinesiology: Sage Green
    Leadership and Organizational Studies: Royal Blue
    Music: Pink
    Nursing: Apricot
    Organizational Leadership: Royal Blue
    Physician Assistant Studies: Kelly Green
    Public Administration: Peacock
    Public Health: Salmon
    Public Relations: Maroon
    School Counseling: Light Blue
    School Psychology: Light Blue
    Speech Language Pathology: Gold 

  • Not Walking in the Commencement Ceremony?

    For students who intend to participate in the hooding ceremony, you will need a cap, gown and tassel, even if you are not going to participate in the Commencement ceremony. ALL graduation candidates must complete the Exit Process, whether or not they plan to participate in Commencement. Graduation candidates will not be given their regalia until the Exit Process is complete. Learn more about the Exit Process.