• August 30, 2016

CBU Honors Faculty and Staff At Annual Awards Banquet

RIVERSIDE (May 3, 2013)--California Baptist University honored faculty and staff achievements May 2 at the Annual Faculty and Staff Awards Banquet, held in the Alumni Dining Commons. The event was sponsored by CBU's Board of Trustees.

Dr. Susan Studer, professor of education, received the Trustees' Distinguished Professor Award. She joined the CBU faculty in 1995 and "has championed a culture of research and high expectations among education faculty and students," according to Dr. John Shoup, dean of the Dr. Bonnie G. Metcalf School of Education.

In nominating Studer, Shoup wrote about her crucial role as research coordinator for the School of Education: "Dr. Studer works with all of the graduate students completing a research thesis or project. She consistently goes to great lengths to provide detailed feedback to multiple iterations of the students' research."

Dr. Angela Butler, associate professor of music, was awarded the Trustees' Distinguished Scholar Award for her research proposal to identify composers contemporary to Shakespeare and some that have connections to his plays.

"Finding dance music of the 16th century is not very difficult, but assigning any music to specifically Shakespeare or to a play is indeed troublesome," Butler wrote in her proposal. "Since recently playing for a Romeo and Juliet production, I have continued to have interest in this field, even though the research (at least in the instrumental genre) seems to be complete."

Lupe Solano, administrative assistant in the Office of Institutional Advancement, received the Employee of the Year Award. Solano, who began working at CBU in 2000, began as evening college secretary, then served as data/research technician in the Dr. Bonnie G. Metcalf School of Education, department secretary in the Department of Modern Languages and Literature and administrative secretary in the School of Christian Ministries. She was Employee of the Month in October 2012.

Solano "excels in her customer service," wrote  former supervisors Dr. Anthony Chute and Dr. Chris Morgan in their recommendation. "She does not rest until others have been served, and she clearly demonstrates a compassionate attitude toward all who come her way."

Awards also were presented to employees with significant periods of service.

Dr. Beverly Howard, professor of music, and Dr. Dave King, professor of education, were both honored for 35 years of service, while Dr. Alan Fossett, professor of chemistry, and Dr. Scott Key, professor of philosophy, received recognition for 25 years of service.

In addition, Dr. Toni Dingman, assistant professor of English; Dr. Andy Herrity, professor of business; Dr. Pat Kircher, professor of political science in Online and Professional Studies; Dr. Frank Pankowski, professor of mathematics, and Michele Vasquez, athletic trainer, received awards for 20 years of service.

Forty-eight employees received pins for five years of service, 22 with 10 years and 17 for 15 years of service.