Founder, inspiration and guiding spirit of Sigma Delta Pi; we remember with gratitude and appreciation.

Sigma Delta Pi, the National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society (La Sociedad Nacional Honoraria Hispánica), was established on November 14, 1919, at the University of California in Berkeley. Its insignia is the royal seal of Fernando and Isabel, representing Castille, León, and Aragón. The Society's colors are red and gold, and its flower is the red carnation. Its motto is the Greek phrase "Spanías Didagéi Proágomen," meaning: "Let's go forth/continue forth under the teaching/guidance of the Spanish language."

With the guidance of such notable Hispanists as S. Griswold Morley, Elijah C. Hills, Rudolph Schevill, Leavitt O. Wright, William Berrien, John D. Fitz-Gerald, Tomás Navarro Tomás, José Martel, Archer M. Huntington, John T. Reid, Stuart M. Gross, James O. Swain, F. Dewey Amner, Carl A. Tyre, T. Earle Hamilton, Dolores Brown, Richard E. Chandler, Ignacio R.M. Galbis, John H. LaPrade and Germán D. Carrillo, the Society has expanded its activities and now has over 500 chapters in 49 states.

The following reveal the diverse nature of the colleges and universities which form the Sigma Delta Pi family: the Catholic University of America, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Southern Methodist University, Baruch College-CUNY, the University of Hawaii, Oral Roberts University, Georgian Court College, Stanford University, Texas Christian University, Hood College, Brigham Young University, College of William and Mary, Howard University, Friends University, Georgia Southern College, Marquette University, Baylor University, Brown University, Auburn University, The Citadel, and California Baptist University.

In order to serve its many chapters efficiently, the Society has a National President, an Executive Secretary-Treasurer, and five Regional Vice Presidents. All but the Executive Director are nominated and elected by the active chapter members. The Society is governed by an Executive Council consisting of the seven aforementioned officials, the Immediate Past President, and the Presidents Emeriti. The sponsor of the chapter (preferably chosen by the student members but sometimes appointed by the department head) is of the utmost importance, for his/her wisdom, imagination, and dedication largely determine the success of the local branch of the Society.

Visit  http://www.sigmadeltapi.org   for more information.