Hooding Ceremonies

Doctoral and Masters candidates will be hooded prior to the Commencement ceremony during a special event determined by each academic school. Students will be contacted by their school or college with information regarding their event. Below is a list of scheduled hooding events. You may contact the school or college directly for more information. If you are unable to attend the hooding event, but still plan to participate in the Commencement ceremony, you will need to contact your school or college to pick up your hood at a different time. Commencement regalia must be worn to all hooding ceremonies and graduates must bring their hoods to Commencement.

College of Architecture, Visual Arts and Design 
There will be no hooding ceremony for Summer 2018.
Contact: Laura Peralta - 951.552.8866 - lperalta@calbaptist.edu

College of Arts and Sciences
Department of Mathematical Sciences Applied Mathematics
Applied Mathematics

There will be no hooding ceremony for Summer 2018.
Contact: Allie Floyd - 951.552.8662 - afloyd@calbaptist.edu

College of Arts and Sciences 
Department of Modern Languages and Literature
Date: Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Time: 1:30 pm
Location: A.J. Staples Room
Contact: Rosemary Welsh - 951.343.4590 - rwelsh@calbaptist.edu

College of Behavioral and Social Sciences
Date: Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Time: 9:30 am - 10:30 am
Location: Innovators Auditorium
Contact: Debbie Jahant - 951.343.4287 - djahant@calbaptist.edu

College of Engineering
Date: Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Time: 9:00 am
Location: NEW College of Engineering
Contact: 951.343.4972 - coedeanadmin@calbaptist.edu

College of Health Science 
Date: Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Time: 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Location: Magnolia Church
Contact: Ally Russell - 951.343.4619 - arussell@calbaptist.edu 

College of Nursing
Date: Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Time: 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Location: Magnolia Church
Contact: Beth-Jayne Carranza  - 951.343.4417 -  bcarranza@calbaptist.edu 

Division of Online and Professional Studies
Date: Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Time: 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Location: Harvest Christian Fellowship
Contact: OPS One-Stop Advising Department - 951.343.3921 - opsadvising@calbaptist.edu

School of Business
Date: Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Time: 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Location: Innovators Auditorium
Contact: Cindie Duncan - 951.343.4504 - cduncan@calbaptist.edu

School of Education
Date: Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Time: 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Location: Health Science Campus, Room A7
Contact: Denise Payne - 951.343.4268 - dpayne@calbaptist.edu

School of Music
There will be no hooding ceremony for Summer 2018.
Contact: Johna Taylor - 951.552.8797 - jtaylor@calbaptist.edu  


Hood Colors

The field of learning in which a degree is awarded is shown by the color of the edging of the hood. The lining of the hood is the official color of the institution which awarded the degree. Following is a list of hood colors representing degrees awarded by CBU:

Accounting: Drab
Applied Mathematics: Gold
Architecture: Blue Violet
Athletic Training: Sage Green
Business Administration: Drab
Communication: Maroon
Counseling Psychology: Gold
Counseling Ministry: Gold
Disability Studies: Light Blue
Education: Light Blue
Engineering: Orange
English: White
Forensic Psychology: Gold
Higher Education Leadership and Student Development: Light Blue
Kinesiology: Sage Green
Leadership and Organizational Studies: Royal Blue
Music: Pink
Nursing: Apricot
Organizational Leadership: Royal Blue
Physician Assistant Studies: Kelly Green
Public Administration: Peacock
Public Health: Salmon
Public Relations: Maroon
School Counseling: Light Blue
School Psychology: Light Blue
Speech Language Pathology: Gold


Not walking in the Commencement Ceremony?

For students who intend to participate in the hooding ceremony, you will need a cap, gown, and tassel, even if you are not going to participate in the Commencement ceremony. ALL graduation candidates must complete the Exit Process, whether or not they plan to participate in Commencement. Graduation candidates will not be given their regalia until the Exit Process is complete. Click here to be directed to the Exit Process.